Filofax Deco in Ivory

Beginning of this year, I stepped into Goldpen here in Wijnegem Shopping Center with my mom and asked the nice man there (aka Tom of Gillio) if they sold Deco’s. He totally lured me over to the dark side and Gillio-mania began, but I still wanted the Deco to serve as my diary, journal and on-the-go planner.

Last week, the wonderful Nati Zou sent me her personal sized Deco in Ivory after I’d been looking for one for quite a while. Here are some up close & personal (pun intended) pictures of the newest addition to my collection… I’m becoming quite the collector, although I’ve always screamed being a one-planner-girl… I guess that’s the influence Philofaxy-people are having on me! 🙂

As I still had the Croco Grey Compagna (before sending it out to the winner of my giveaway on YouTube), I thought I’d include some pictures comparing the two as they look a lot alike.

Picture heavy post!

First of all: here she is, my beautiful Deco. I’ve never been any good at naming my planners so I won’t 😉

It arrived in perfect condition with perfect rings, thanks Nati…

2013-07-15 21.23.08 2013-07-15 21.23.16 2013-07-15 21.23.29 2013-07-15 21.23.35
The inside is lined with beautiful cream-coloured suède. It has one pen loop on the left but being right-handed, that’s not really a practical place for it to be – for me.

I keep my Swarovski pen in there but I usually carry a little pen bag around with Frixions so I only use it to scribble something on my post-it dashboard.

2013-07-15 21.26.07 2013-07-15 21.26.19 2013-07-15 21.26.36

On the left there are several credit card pockets, one large pocket and a zipped compartment, which is quite stiff – not suited for use as a wallet, I think. It would take me too long to get any cash out.

2013-07-15 21.27.26 2013-07-15 21.27.08
The planner came stuffed with beautiful cotton cream inserts – I’ve never had these before but they are stunning, and so much easier to write on then the plain white ones… I wonder if they come in A5 too?

There is To Do-paper:

2013-07-15 21.27.41

Ruled note paper (ideal for journalling, with the little box at the top of the papers to write the date!)

2013-07-15 21.27.56

Plain note paper, more journalling-ideas coming up…

2013-07-15 21.28.03

Mileage-log paper (never seen those before!):

2013-07-15 21.28.26

And tabbed telephone papers – I think I might store some internet password clues in there.

2013-07-15 21.28.43

In the back, there is one large pocket, envelope-style, with a popper button. I’m storing keepsakes in there (cards, movie tickets, …)

2013-07-15 21.29.10 2013-07-15 21.29.44
It’s also made of this wonderfully soft suède material, love how the colour slightly changes when you rub it!

2013-07-15 21.29.23
And finally, compared to the Gillio Medium Compagna in Croco Grey.

As you see, the colour is almost identical, I’d say the Deco has a more yellow-ish tone of beige then the Gillio.

2013-07-15 21.24.13 2013-07-15 21.24.27

The strap of the Gillio is a lot wider (and the pen loop is on the correct side!), but… The Deco has that gorgeous lock!

2013-07-15 21.25.23

The Gillio has slightly larger rings, but I’m pleasantly surprised at how much the Deco can hold!

2013-07-15 21.25.06
By now, the Deco has been set up (more details on that later…) and the Gillio has been kissed, cuddled and sent off to a better home after my YouTube giveaway!

Any other Deco lovers out there?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Filofax Deco in Ivory

  1. Hi Mella,
    yes, here is another Deco lover! 😉
    During my “pocket-period”, I owned them all, the Ivory, the Red and the Amethyste… sigh
    But now, using the Personal size, I own an Ivory and love it, though I must admit, that I’ve used her (called “Her Majesty” or “ThePrincess”, as you could see here: http://filo-manie.blogspot.de/search/label/Deco ) only a few days so far… There’s always a little fear to hurt her. 😮
    Best, Ena from Filo-Manie

  2. Sorry for the open words but I simply can’t find any beauty either in the Deco or the Enigma binder. To me they look over styled and unnatural – just not to name the real word I have for these two Filofaxes- that makes me a natural leather loving girl that still wishes you a good time with the binders of your joice.

  3. I’ve had the ivory and amethyst in personal size and the ivory and red in pocket size. I love the looks of the leather and the clasp, but found they were not practical enough for day-to-day use. The leather is surprisingly sturdy though, I didn’t get any scratches or dents. Unlike the clasp that I protected with some transparent self adhesive foil …

Leave a Reply

